i would drive 2300 miles

Chicago. Houston. Red Deer. Shanghai. Nashville. Manheim. Phoenix.

I would like to consider myself a well-moved person. I’ve lived more places than I’ve visited, so when my husband told me in 2014 that he was considering a position in Lancaster County, PA I didn’t think twice about it. Well, I mean, I did…we’d been in Nashville for almost eight years, which was the longest I’d lived in one place, and my parents had moved there and friends…but the concept of moving in and of itself was not disconcerting to me.

Fast forward to 2016 and my husband begins the process again with a church in Phoenix, AZ. This time remove the length of time and family elements, and the decision became even easier. So in November 2016 we packed up our house and dogs and drove over 2300 miles to Phoenix, AZ.

It’s been about a month now and I’d say it’s about 80% good and 20% getting there. The area is great, there’s an awesome dog park five minutes away, we love the church, and my husband is very content and happy in his new position.

The 20%? I have not worked in five weeks now. This might not seem like a big deal, but to a woman who has not gone more than two weeks without working (and that under protest) in over 10 years this has been soul crushing. I’ve applied for many jobs, and there has been some encouragement, but because of my previous history, I suppose I assumed it would be easier to start over here than it has been. Of course, though, my husband knows several ways to convict me and make me feel a little silly.

The first way: it’s only been five weeks. My father, who has a M.S. in Mechanical Engineering and over 35 years senior project management experience looked for a job for a year after he retired before finding something. How can I, a 29 year old with a B.M. in Composition, 7 years of high end sales experience, and 2 years web and social media management work expect to have something going in a month? He is right, I’m a bit unrealistic.

The second way: “When will you learn that you can’t control everything?”

I think that one speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

